Pompidou Group

Pompidou Group is an inter-governmental body formed in 1971 at the initiative of the late French President Georges Pompidou within the Council of Europe to contribute to the development of multidisciplinary, innovative, effective and evidence-based drug policies in its Member States. The Pompidou Group is made up of 37 Member States and Mexico as an Observer State. Its technical cooperation also involves other European states which are not members of the Pompidou Group, such as Albania, Latvia and Ukraine and states from the Mediterranean Basin such as Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco and Lebanon.